Home » Uncategorized » Haiku deck for vocabulary words

Haiku deck for vocabulary words

This is very effective for vocabulary study. I introduce 10 words at a time from a list of SAT level words. We always discuss the words and try to make connections in order to remember them. This, though, adds the visual component. I typed the vocabulary word into the text area, searched through pictures it provided me, chose one, and then used the word in a sentence to go along with the picture. Sometimes the pictures it associated with the word were quite a stretch, but that just forced me to be more creative in writing a sentence to connect the word and the picture. I showed it to the students, and they were busily writing down the app name. I emailed the deck to them. I think this will really help the visual learners. Next time, I will have them prepare the Haiku deck. Thanks. Elaine Zullo

Leave a Reply

